2 Kings 2:14

(NIV1984) 2 Kings 2:14 – “Then he took the cloak that had fallen from him and struck the water with it.  ‘Where now is the LORD, the God of Elijah?’ he asked.  When he struck the water, it divided to the right and to the left, and he crossed over.”

It is most interesting that he calls the LORD “the God of Elijah”.  Is the LORD not his God?

I guess this also marks a turning point for Elisha.  Now, with Elijah gone, he must work out his own faith and relationship with God.  He must see where he stands, what sort of person he will be in relation to God – and, I suppose, the world – without Elijah’s helpful presence.  He might know what he is – a prophet of the LORD – but not necessarily who he is in all of this, or even what sort of prophet he will be.

I feel like this, too, sometimes.  I know I’m a daughter of God, but I don’t necessarily know how (or when) that will manifest itself.  I know I’m a writer, but I don’t know when – or, even really, what – my books (will be) when they are published.  I know that I’m supposed to lower myself and serve the poor, the less fortunate, and although I hope Teach For America is part of that, I don’t necessarily know where all of these will go or how they’ll end up.  When a great moment happens – no, when I have to leave friends behind – I often feel like this, like, “Where has God gone?  Are You even still here?” even though I know better.

And here’s the thing – that God is there with me, with us, anyway.  He appears with small miracles in this moment.  I mean, this is the first of the miracles He does through Elisha, and it seems to me to be one more of reassurance and encouragement.  He hasn’t left Elisha.  He’s still right there, just as He is with us, and that’s that indication of yes, I want a relationship with you, too, not just your mentor.  Elisha does mean something – and God answers his question – “Where now is the LORD, the God of Elijah?” – with a very powerful and reassuring answer – With you.

But how will Elisha respond to that?  Will he begin to call the LORD his God?  We will see how their relationship runs in the next (few?) upcoming chapters.

This entry was posted in 2 Kings 2, Comfort, Elijah, Elisha, Elisha's Return, Reflection, September. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

