2 Kings 2:5

(NIV1984) 2 Kings 2:5 – “The company of the prophets at Jericho went up to Elisha and asked him, ‘Do you know that the LORD is going to take your master from you today?’
“‘Yes, I know,’ he replied, ‘but do not speak of it.'”

When I reached this in my study in March, this was my response:

This just feels weighty today.  Like – Elisha doesn’t want to think about what’s about to happen.  He knows, and that knowing is enough.  That knowing is always enough.  He doesn’t have to – he doesn’t want to – dwell on it.

It’s like me and graduation – I know it’s coming.  I don’t know what I’m going to do afterwards and I don’t really want to think about it.  I know (my roommate) and I won’t be living together anymore, and I don’t want to think about that either.  There are a lot of things coming up that I don’t want to think about because they are too overwhelming to me.  But that doesn’t mean I stay behind and just wait for them to happen.  I need to engage with them – now, today.

And – looking back on it – there wasn’t really much need to worry.  A lot of things happen.  But there are still things I don’t want to think about.  My current roommate (a different one than the one I had when I wrote that) is planning on moving to another city next year.  If I want to stay here, I’ll need to find another roommate or a cheaper place to stay.  Or maybe I’ll move, too.

But that’s in the future and I tend to not think about it.

And – you know, I had the earlier post about making plans even if God ends up wanting you to change them.  I’m not redacting that.  I still very much believe that is true.  But I think, at the same time, it’s good to take advantage of the present.

Like – Elisha knows that Elijah is going to be taken up, but he doesn’t want to dwell on that.  Yes, this is an event that will probably change his entire life, but he doesn’t want to think about it.  He wants to spend what little time he has left with Elijah actually with Elijah.

And I want to spend my time with my roommate…with my roommate.  Not worrying about moving or not moving or what’s going to happen however many months down the road.  I mean, I don’t want to be thinking about how the time I spend with my friend is going to be the last time I might ever see them.  That makes the moment bitter and…it takes away from it.

One of my friends died my freshman year.  If I had known ahead of time, would I have changed the way I acted around him?  Sure, I would have.  But I don’t think I would have spent the time focusing on how he was going to die in a few minutes or a few hours or a few days.

So, I guess what I’m saying is – enjoy your friends while they’re around and don’t…don’t think about how you might not be friends in a few years or a few months or a few days or even a few hours.  Focus on what God has given you now and take stock in that.

This entry was posted in 2 Kings 2, August, Elijah, Elijah Gets Taken Up!, Elisha, Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

