2 Kings 1:16-17a

(NIV1984) 2 Kings 1:16-17a – “He told the king, ‘This is what the LORD says: Is it because there is no God in Israel for you to consult that you have sent messengers to consult Baal-Zebub, the god of Ekron?  Because you have done this, you will never leave the bed you are lying on.  You will certainly die!’  So he died, according to the word of the LORD that Elijah had spoken.”

The LORD’s words come true.  They do not come back empty.  Therefore this, too, is good – or if it does not seem that way, it will be worked for my good.

This – my comments – may seem a little disconnected, but I went through this particular day of study on March 1 of this year.  I, too, wasn’t sure what I was referring to when I was talking about “this” being good, so I went and checked in my prayer journal to see if I could learn anything from that.

Well, on March 1, 2013, I found out that the job I hoped and expected I was getting this past summer – the job I’d had and loved for the past two summers – that was the day I found out that I wasn’t hired again.

If y’all have been with me since May, you’ll know just how much I was worried about my job – about whether it was even right to be interviewing for a job in my college town because I felt that maybe God was calling me to go back home (He did provide a job for me here, and I’m so glad!  There are so many things that wouldn’t have happened – I’ll get even more into this in a moment).

Well – backstory time (and this is relevant, so…it is, it really is).

For the past two summers, I’ve had a wonderful job, and I thought that I was getting better at it.  By the time I applied for it this year, I assumed that I was going to get it.  I mean, I was doing so much better!  There weren’t any fatal screw-ups!  They took me back when I made mistakes, why wouldn’t they take me back when I was actually doing well?

And then, well, they didn’t.

This is, of course, a shortened version.  I was a proud, boastful, arrogant little brat about it, to be honest.  But at the same time, that job…was like having a family, you know?  There really aren’t words to describe what that job meant to me.

And all of a sudden – it was just gone.

So, on that day, this is what my Bible study was.  And I tried to find hope in the verses I was given for the day.  And that’s what I found: the word of the LORD is always true and it always comes true.
And in the day of my despair, God gave me the strength to hold to His promises by showing me that His promises never fail and that He would provide for me and that He had something better in mind for me.

Looking back on this summer – it was a good thing I didn’t have that job.  There’s a lot more freedom in the job I have now, and the hours are a lot more regular.  Also, it’s not just a summer job, which is good for the rest of the year.  I only had to do the one job searching as opposed to searching for a job at the end of the summer and trying to do interviews then.  And there’s so many – so much time I got to spend with friends, building relationships.  A few of us even got together and started a Bible study which was SO encouraging.

And all of the wonderful things of this summer – well, not all, but a good chunk of them – wouldn’t have happened if I had the job I originally hoped and expected and assumed that I would have.

So – when, in Romans 8, it says that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose?

It’s not a lie.

God proved that again to me this summer.

Blessed be the Name of the LORD and blessed be His Name.

This entry was posted in 2 Kings 1, Ahaziah's Downfall, August, Comfort, Elijah, Miscellaneous, Recognition, Reflection, Thankfullness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2 Kings 1:16-17a

  1. The summer has had its moments, but it has been good overall. I’m glad we’re both learning about God’s plan in times of uncertainty and feelings of doubt, etc. I’m also glad that we were able to spend time together when our schedules allow.

Leave a Reply

