1 Kings 22:14

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 22:14 – “But Micaiah said, ‘As surely as the LORD lives, I can tell him only what the LORD tells me.'”

Micaiah is right to say these things in this way, and it is a correct response to the messenger’s words.  Most of it I touched on before, but today I want to touch on the last part of that verse: “only what the LORD tells me.”

Perhaps God wanted the prophets to prophesy two different things.  Perhaps He told them two different things to say.  If this were true, then Micaiah’s obligation is still to say what the LORD has given him to say.  It’s like in the New Testament with the body.  Not everyone is called to be a hand or a foot or an eye.  If a foot tried to be an eye, for instance, there would be a lot of problems.  In this way we see that we are called to do what the LORD calls each of us individually to do.  Some people are called to preach on corners and busy passages.  If this is what the Lord is calling them to do, then good for them for obeying.  But if someone is called – legitimately called – to go to soup kitchens and spend their free time there, that’s what they should be doing.  Not everyone is called to preach or to go overseas or to give half or more of their income.  Not everyone is called to music or worship team.  This doesn’t mean it’s wrong to try things out, but if you feel the Lord calling you strongly to a position – whether through a passion, a talent, a yearning, or Him speaking quite audibly to you – that’s what you should be doing.  Pursue the work He’s called you to.  It’s always worth it.

And what does that say about conflict?  I don’t know, honestly.  The easy answer would be to obey God.  And, in all honestly, in of itself, that isn’t easy.

For instance, if you’re having trouble with another person in the body – if it seems like you are called to do two conflicting things – how do you approach that?  I don’t know.  But maybe this is the thought – maybe, in the grand overarching scheme of things, what we see as a conflict really isn’t.

And I’m talking inside the body, not outside of it.

Like – denominations.

But I’m going to stop here before I start getting into things completely over my head.  I know what I want to say, but I’m not sure whether it is the greatest idea to go spouting it here until I’ve…worked on its presentation a little bit better.  🙂

I hope and pray that you, dear readers, have a wonderful day.

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 22, July, Micaiah, Reflection, Seeking the LORD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

