1 Kings 21:15-16

So – before we get any further – I’m going to ask for some prayer for y’all.  I’ve been having a really bad problem – I mean, it’s not life-threatening as far as I know – I mean, my feet have been itching like crazy and I’ve been unable to keep from rubbing them raw.  That sounds like a really puny thing to ask prayers for, but I just….  Will you pray that God will give me the self-control to stop itching at them and that they’ll stop itching soon?  Thanks.  🙂

Anyway – on to today’s passage!

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 21:15-16 – “As soon as Jezebel heard that Naboth had been stoned to death, she said to Ahab, ‘Get up and take possession of the vineyard of Naboth the Jezreelite that he refused to sell you.  He is no longer alive, but dead.’  When Ahab heard that Naboth was dead, he got up and went down to take possession of Naboth’s vineyard.”

Okay, so if the palace is in Jezreel, why would Jezebel have had to hear about the event in letters?  Wouldn’t she have known about it simply by being in the city?  And wouldn’t that be true of Ahab, too?  And yet he doesn’t do anything until Jezebel tells him to do so.  Ahab appears to be very obedient as long as someone tells him what to do – and in this I see a great parallel between Ahab and Elijah.  Both are very obedient.  The major difference is that Ahab obeys anyone he sees as having power and authority over him, and Elijah obeys God.  If Ahab had only focused his obedience on God and no one else….

I empathize with and pity Ahab.  Jezebel, not so much, but Ahab just makes me sad.

Also, does Naboth have no relatives?  Wouldn’t the vineyard be someone’s inheritance?  Or is his entire family cut off because of what it was said that he did?

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 21, June. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

