1 Kings 18:45-46

Praise God for my uncle Steve!  Due to his expertise, my computer has been fixed!  Evidently I just needed to press the Windows button on my keyboard.  Oops.  Oh, well.  At least I know now!
And now onto today’s study verses!

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 18:45-46 – “Meanwhile, the sky grew black with clouds, the wind rose, a heavy rain came on and Ahab rode off to Jezreel.  The power of the LORD came upon Elijah and, tucking his cloak into his belt, he ran ahead of Ahab all the way to Jezreel.”

The rains came!  Amazing how a little cloud became such a ferocious storm!  Only God!

And the power of the LORD causing Elijah to run so fast he not only caught up to Ahab, who was in a chariot, but surpassed him – wow!  It gives new meaning to Isaiah 40:31 – they will run but not grow weary!

But I don’t understand why he tucked his cloak into his belt.  Or why he went to the same place as Ahab.  Ah, well.

But I really do want to focus on the little cloud that became a big storm.  I think that is just so indicative of what happens.  For example, my writing.  Outside of this blog, right now I’m working on the second draft of a fanfic that I started somewhere in the middle of last June.  When I first got the idea for it (probably the previous September), I’d imagined it as a short story, one that I could maybe use to spin off ideas of my own and turn in class.  When I finally started it last June, I thought it would be fairly short – only ten chapters.
It then spanned to be 13 chapters (9 chapters, a prologue, two interludes, and an epilogue) – and it’s almost 69k words long.  It’s spanned four spiral notebooks, making up the majority of at least two of them.  I’m currently working on the second draft, and each chapter I’ve done so far is even longer than it was originally.  This thing is going to be massive.
God has given this to me.  This isn’t the first time this has happened.  My capstone paper last year was originally just the idea to research the word “teleos” in the New Testament and compare it with another word that seemed to have a similar meeting.  Then it grew and grew and grew until it was almost 40 pages long.  It was massive.  Before that, I’d started a short story for a roleplay a few friends and I were having – and it ended up taking over two years and 120k words to finish the rough draft.  Not only that, but it spawned the idea for an entire series, let alone all of the intricate details of characters who I’d long thought I knew but was suddenly seeing in an entirely new light.
And, again, I say this – God has given this to me.  I may not write particularly well, but He has given me a lot of words.  I know it doesn’t seem like that on here.  A lot of times the daily post is short.  And this long explanation here is not to make much of me but to make much of Him.

I mean – look at Elijah here.  God tells him that rain will come, and Elijah prays for rain, and it appears as just a small cloud.  But that cloud grows and grows until it is larger than I probably would have imagined, if I were Elijah looking at that little cloud.  But Elijah knew.  He knew God.  He knew that this small cloud was the rain that was promised, and he knew that it would be what God would use.  So many times God brings us something small, but that small thing ends up becoming so huge and large that we might not have even noticed it until we look back on it later.
So, I guess what I’m trying to say here is this – people may talk about the huge, remarkable, amazing times that they’re having with God right now, and you might be getting a little – you might wonder why that’s not happening to you.  Where’s your huge, amazing, remarkable thing?  But theirs had to start small.  God told them something, and they prayed about it, and it appeared as just a small thing.  But then it grew and grew.
So, too, for you there may be a large thing – and to you, it might not initially seem large.  It may seem small and insignificant.  But God will do a marvelous work in you.  You do not despise your small things because one day, when the time is right, that which initially seemed so small will seem large in comparison.  You’ll look back and wonder how it all happened.  And when it started, you might never have thought God would use it to make such a change in your life.

Just hold out.  God knows what you need.  And don’t shirk the small stuff.

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 18, Elijah, June, Return of Rain. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

