1 Kings 18:7-8

Hey guys!  Sorry for taking so long to update!  It’s been a really busy day and, although I normally update in the morning after my own Bible study, I didn’t have time today – because I…well…it was my own fault.  And then I forgot until just now.  I’m so sorry!
But here is today’s update!

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 18:7-8 – “As Obadiah was walking along, Elijah met him.  Obadiah recognized him, bowed down to the ground, and said, ‘Is it really you, my lord Elijah?’
“‘Yes,’ he replied.  ‘Go tell your master, “Elijah is here.”‘”

So, in the third year of the drought, the one in charge of the palace runs into the prophet Elijah while searching for grass for horses and mules.  It sounds like a good story.  And it’s just — Elijah met him.  He didn’t try to hide; he was just…there.  Perhaps Obadiah thought that Elijah would want to be hidden with the other prophets he was hiding.  Perhaps he wondered where Elijah had been all this time.  And this occurrence was so fortunate and odd and rare and, to Obadiah, possibly coincidental, that a part of him isn’t sure it’s really Elijah, so he asks to make sure.
But what’s really interesting about his reaction is that he recognized him.  They didn’t have cameras back then.  They might have had artist renderings, but Elijah hadn’t really been seen – and recognized like this – in years.  This seems to me to possibly imply that these two might have once before seen each other.  Perhaps Obadiah was there when Elijah told Ahab that there would be no more rain unless he commanded it.
But I don’t know.  This is me just speculating, so by no means take this as fact.  I’m probably wrong here.  It’s just…interesting to me.
And that Obadiah bowed down to the ground before Elijah.  That was a big deal.  And he called him “my lord” (NIV1984, 1 Kings 18:7).  It’s just interesting to me.
So Elijah confirms that it is, in fact, him, and tells Obadiah to go tell Ahab.  We know that Elijah is going to present himself to Ahab, but it’ll be important to keep in mind that Obadiah doesn’t, and his response, as we will see tomorrow, comes out of that fear.

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 18, Elijah, May, Meeting Ahab. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

