1 Kings 17:21-24

Ok – finally finishing up the widow section and chapter 17!  Woo-hoo!  So let’s get started, shall we?  😀

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 17:21-24 – “Then he stretched himself out on the boy three times and cried to the LORD, ‘O LORD my God, let this boy’s life return to him!’
“The LORD heard Elijah’s cry, and the boy’s life returned to him, and he lived.  Elijah picked up the child and carried him down from the room into the house.  He gave him to his mother and said, ‘Look, your son is alive!’
“Then the woman said to Elijah, ‘Now I know that you are a man of God and that the word of the LORD from your mouth is the truth.'”

I think it’s interesting that Elijah didn’t necessarily know that God would hear hi cry, that he just did this now just to see.  And he was perseverant – he stretched himself out not once, not twice, but three times on this boy while crying out to God to let him live.  It reminds me of the passage in Job where Elihu says,
“Behold, God does all these things,
twice, three times, with a man,
 to bring back his soul from the pit,
that he may be lighted with the light of life.”  (ESV Job 33:29-30).
And maybe (surely?) Elijah knew this passage and knew to be perseverant.

And it paid off.  God heard his cry and brought the boy back to life.  But Elijah still “picked up the child and carried him” (NIV 1 Kings 17:23) – maybe the son was still weak?  Dying could do that to someone.
And the widow’s words!  “Now I know….” (NIV 1 Kings 17:24).  Didn’t she know that when the flour and oil began reproducing themselves?  Or did, in reminding the woman of her sin – did Elijah tell her that God would forgive her and still love her?  Was this the word he spoke?  I know early on the passage about the jug – but it seems like she would know that by now.  So I guess I’m confused?
Either way, it’s been a very interesting chapter.

P.S.  I realize I use the word “interesting”, like, a TON.  So if there are other words that perhaps you think I might should be using, let me know!  I’m open to suggestions!  🙂

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 17, Elijah, May. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

