1 Kings 17:15-16

(NIV1984) 1 Kings 17:15-16 – “She went away and did as Elijah had told her.  So there was food every day for Elijah and for the woman and her family.  For the jar of flour was not used up and the jug of oil did not run dry, in keeping with the word of the LORD spoken by Elijah.”

I wonder if the widow woman didn’t rush back and immediately test this.  It says she “went away”, but there’s no indication in this translation of how fast.  I wonder if she ever doubted the truth of the miracle – I feel like I would have, like the what if would always plague my mind – what if God’s not actually calling me to do this?  (Hah – this is kind of like where I am as far as finding a job here or going home.  But I trust him.)  What if I trust in God to show up but He doesn’t?
But the truth of the matter is that God always shows up.  Maybe the real reason there are so few miracles – or outstanding ones like this – today (not that living itself isn’t a miracle – but you know what I mean) isn’t because God wouldn’t do them but that we’re not claiming them, too afraid that He won’t show up and of our own reputation and faith.  We doubt ourselves and we doubt God and our doubts keep our faith from healing us.
Then again, maybe I’m just calling myself out here.  I know that I don’t exercise my faith as much as possible.  But right now, with this job thing, I have to trust in Him.  And I know that my interviews (yeah – I have two now!) are miracles from Him in and of themselves, even if I don’t get the jobs.  He has given me a gift in giving me these interviews, and that is wonderful to me!  And two in a week!  That’s just amazing and a miracle and I’m so thankful!
God can and does do great things.  He can and He does and He is in the process of working miracles if we open our eyes to them and do not doubt His goodness.  …and they’re still miracles even if we don’t recognize them.  🙂

This entry was posted in 1 Kings 17, Elijah, May. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

